“In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Peter Jones plans to build a multi-million-dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Peter Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The arguement states that a multi-million-dollar subway system running for twenty-four hours is will the answer to the complains about traffic congestion in Briggsvile. However the argument is rifed with doubts including, who will pay for the subway system and how many people have complained about inconsistent buses, hence failing to make a cogent case about building a subway system that will increase productivity of the people and hence economy of Briggsvile.

Given that the project will cost an enormous sum of money, the first question that needs to be answered is whether the people are ready to pay for the subway system. Building this would mean increase in taxes leading to increased prices that would causes inconvinience to the people. Apart from the cost to build it, there will be maintenance costs like electricity for running the trains all day, salary of workers that needs to be fulfilled. Since we are unaware of the economic prosperity of the town in the argument, if it is a modest one, there arises a doubt whether the town can become debt-free from the loan it would be taking. A poor or even a modest town wouldn't have millions of dollars lying around and needs to take a big loan.

Instead of spending so much money on this project, the Mayor can build better roads and ply more buses. Such a solution will not cost a million dollars and give the people a safe and reliable riding experience.

The Mayor talks about complaints in the memorandum from residents about inconsistent buses and unsafe riding experience. We don't know how many people have raised concerns about the same. It might be possible that there were few people who complained regularly or raised a complaint because of a small unfavourable incident they had faced once. Based on a few complaints, it is unjustificable to generalize it and make it a reason to spend million dollars building a subway system. More indepth analysis of the complains is needed to know how many people have complained and how inconvinient were the situations that a subway system needs to be constructed.

The impact put forth for the subway system is an increase in productivity and hence growth in economy. However, there is no quantitative argument as to how much increase will be there. Obviously there will be an increase becasue people will reach their destinations quickly without the hassles of stuck in traffic hence starting their work in a productive mood, however there are other essential factors that contribute to the prouctivity of an individual like his mental situation, personal family problems, workplace tension and others.