Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

We have all witnessed ourselves or people nearby get into political debates and trying to prove their point of view. One such issue at hand is whether the goal of politics should be finding an ideal solution or a middle ground based on the majority consensus. Given that ideal solutions to a various of political problems lead to extremist solutions and upset a lot of people, coming to a reasonable common ground based is the best solution.

Ideal solutions, for most of the times, fall on the extreme ends of the range of solutions. For example, Communism is based on the principle that evry person would be working hard on their own will and strive for the development of a nation. On the other end of the spectrum is Capitalism which is governed by the ideal thinking that everything should be privately owned where people would compete against each other. This sense of a merit-based society would bring a rapid growth in a country's economy.

Although ideal solutions have their own merits, they bring their fair share of disadvantages. They don't appeal to the majority of massses. For example, going back to the idea of Communism, it heavily depends on the assumption that most of the people work on their own will. Russia, which once embraced Communism, failed miserably because people didn't have the incentive to put in extra effort. This led to a decrease in productivity and the nation suffered heavily. Now you might say that Capitalism is the answer to this problem because it rewards people of their work. However, there are problems associated with Capitalism like security threat because of privatization of sensitive government nuclear or military data. This approach has also been critized of making the rich richer and the poor poorer, bringing more social difference.

Since the ultimate goal of politics is to improve more lives of people in a nation, ideal solutions fail to succeed. Reaching a common ground will help balance all the negative aspects of an ideal solution, while giving the same benefits to more number of people in a country. For instance, Germany approaches with a balanced outlook. They have all the essential institutions like military, hospitals, even schools and universities owned by the government, while industries owned by private organizations. Such an approach has made Germany one of the advanced and economically stable nation in the world.