Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A political leader can be said to be effective if his actions direct a nation toward a goal of development. The issue at hand tries to find out whether a leader should give in to public opinions or keep his grounds on his principles and goals. Although working as per people's opinions might make them happier, yet a leader must always be committed to his principles and strive towards his ultimate objectives because a developed nation will help people prosper in the long run.

Yielding to what a nation is saying is beneficial in certain cases and can avoid disasters. People look at problems from a different perspective and might offer better and pragmatic solutions. For instance, after the tie in the 2014 elections in India two times in a row, two opposing parties BJP and Congress had to join hands to form the government. Although they were adament that a third election should be held, the public voiced against the proposition. Both had to find a middle ground for their clashing principles and work hand-in-hand to steer a country's policies. During their term as government, India saw one of the largest boost in GDP, hence showing that public opinions are sometimes more effective than the principles of leaders. However public mixes emotions with clear thinking and that is a reason for big problems like the Civil war in SriLanka. People wanted to destroy certain parts of society that followed a contrasting sect, hence leading to Civil wars.

However, remaining committed to working on a fixed goal would make a nation progress towards a objective on a well thought out plan. Political leaders work day and night coming up with plans to steer a nation towards prosperity. For example, American Presidents worked day and night to bring an end to slavery inspite of extrinsic challenges. Staying committed to a particular objective and being guided by a set of principles helps to grow a nation as a whole.

Unyielding to the public opinion might not be taken in a well spirited manner by the people and there might be revolts, however, in the long run the nation moves steadily towards development. Mixing of public ideas with a well crafted plan developed for years definitely impedes it's efficiency. For instance, in 2001, Pakistan wanted Kasmir, a state in India, that led to violent wars and terrorist attacks. Although people opined to get rid of the state, the government stood steady on it's principles and finally won the battle. Kashmir still remains a part of India. Had the ministers given in to the public sentiment, India would have lost a state that brings in 20% of the revenue earned by the tourism industry.