cooperation not competion

The issue at hand is whether we should help the younger generation become ready for leadership roles by making them understand the sense of cooperation rather than competition. Although competition sharpens our skills, but the best traits of becoming a leader is by working along with others instead of fighting them.

Competition is necessary to bring the best out of a person or organization whih inturn helps to develop mankind. For example XBox and Playstation are two big names in the gaming console space. Cut-throat competition among them helps to bring the latest and greatest features to their users, hence making great strides in this space. However, what time has shown is that competition has detrimental effects in the long turn. Taking the above example, although these two giants are trying to be the best, but Playstation is loosing tremendous amount of money and might go bankrupt if this trend continues. Reading through the pages of history, we are taught again and again that competition leads to downfall. For example, the infamous Worlds War I and II were outcomes of competing among various nation leaders. Had they never competed, but lived in cooperation, such disasters wouldn't have happened.

A sense of cooperation is needed to work hand in hand with the people thereby making the result a success. A great example is the first Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru. After independence of India, Nehru worked with leaders of other countries like UK, US, Japan and made strong bonds that helped in the development of India, a country that lacked resources and was in a state of turmoil just after independence. Working together with other big leaders taught him how to be an effective leader, the knowledge which he implemented to make India prosper as a developing nation. If he had competed with other countries, wars would have broken out and India might not have developed. Hence, cooperation gives pragmatic knowledge from others that are essential for a leader to plan his actions.

In conclusion, cooperation is essential for the development of a organization and even a nation because it helps to combine the strength of all the people striving towards a common goal, while competition makes one alone in his endeavours. Therefore, in my opinion we must teach the younger generation to learn about working together