"Nosinia is an herb that many users report to be as effective as prescription medications at fighting allergy symptoms. Researchers recently compared Nosinia to a placebo in 95 men and women with seasonal allergies to ragweed pollen. Participants in the study reported that neither Nosinia nor the placebo offered significant relief. However, for the most severe allergy symptoms, the researchers reported that Nosinia was more effective than the placebo in providing relief. Furthermore, at the end of the study, participants given Nosinia were more likely than participants given a placebo to report feeling healthier.We therefore recommend using Nosinia to help with your severe allergy symptoms.

The argument at hand is that Nosinia is equally effective as prescription medicines to fight allergy, based on a research on 95 people. However it doesnot provide reasonable answers to questions like whether a small sample size of 95 people is enough to reach a conclusion about a herb, hence failing to make a cogent case to recommend using Nosinia for severe allergies.

Firstly, no details of the participants and the placebo had been mentioned in the newsletter. If they were believers in the effectiveness of Ayurveda compared to medicinal pills, they would create a subconscious feeling that the herb will work better than any pill. Lack of information about the placebo makes it even hard to establish the testing conditions. Had the placebo been a simple pill to look at, the former mentioned feeling among the participants will increase making the results skewed since the beginning.

Moreover there is no mention about whether the small sample of 95 participants knew about the claimed effectiveness of the herb. If they had known about the properties of Nosinia before the experiment, they would subconsciously treat the herb as the superior medicine. This might explain the participants given Nosinia feel more healthier than the other group. To establish their claims scientifically, medical procedures like blood test, heart beat and pressure measurements should have been taken and compared to their previous selves.

In conclusion, the study showing the effectiveness of Nosinia doesn't give a clear picture of the conditions used in the experiment, hence making the results not self-sustaining. In my opinion, the newsletter should have asked for more number of participants and their past knowledge about the herb before coming to a decision about the effectiveness of the herb.