"In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument claims that having meals with one's own family is correlated with better prosperity in life and staying away from destructive habits like smoking or drug abuse. Although spending quality time with family helps to relieve stress and bring happiness, yet the argument doesnot provide appropriate examples as to how family meals can help build good qualities in a teenager hence failing to make a cogent case how teenagers can be kept away from bad behaviors by having meals with their loved and dear ones.

Firstly, the survey had been reported to be done on 5000 teenagers, however, there is no mention about the diversity in the data. It had not been reported accurately if the teens surveyed were from the same city, or whether they were in the same age group and these are vital information to judge the accuracy of the survey report. For instance, if the data had been taken from teens who spend their meal time engrossed in doing science projects, it's a false argument that they will likely be indulged in illegal habits in the future and end up in depression or lower self-esteem.

Besides, 30 percent of the teens had reported to eat atleast 7 meals a week with their family, but this doesnot clear the fact about the remaining 70 percent. It might have been possible that the majority of adolescents (more than 50 percent) had 1 or 2 family meals a week, yet scoring good grades in school and going to become successful in their profession. Moreover, there is no mention of the 30 percent of teens that had high number of family meals ended up in life. Just stating that one has meals regularly with their family doesn't automatically imply that those teens weren't involved in illegal activities. One of the best example is of Pablo Escobar, the drug Lord who ruled the narcotics business in Mexico at one time. He had meals everyday with his family since childhood, although unlike the argument's claim, ended up being involved in illicit activities. Therefore such a statistical value without any final result is mere speculation and can't be taken in face value.