Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The statement claims that people holding positions of authority in different fields like business, politics or government should handover their power to others after five years to rejuvinate the enterprise, hence leading to sure success. However, in my opinion five years is too small of a timespan to plan and execute a proper mission statement and therefore the statement is absolutely unjustified.

A new leader brings with himself a fresh perspective to the enterprise and is often excited to put his ideas into action soon. His leadership style can be completely different than others and with introduction of policies can bolster working attitudes in employees which is essential for the success of any institution. For example, with Steve Balmer becoming the new CEO of Microsoft in 2009, he changed the perspective of the organization from a product-driven to a service-oriented company. This brought an enthusiasm among the employees and Microsoft started doing well in their business. However, the lack of experience in Steve made him do certain critical mistakes that affected Microsoft's stocks negatively. Seeking to change the leadership style in 2011, Satya Nadella took over Steve and made things even worse till 2015. It has been only 2 years that Microsoft's stocks have reached all time high and telling Nadella to step down since he has been holding the power for more than 5 years is

not a fair idea.

It takes some amount of time to plan and start executing new policies that will gear any institution towards a common goal. 5 years is not a sufficient mark to fulfill a plan and find out it's results. Every big organization works on a system of feedbacks. With every plan in force, extensive feedback is taken to understand the effect of it. It takes considerable time to understand from the flaws and reiterate the solution, even change the approach to a problem completely. The biggest example is the Head of Department of any big university in a country. He needs to understand and plan accordingly how the department is going to work and after extensive feedback from the students performance, he can devise an effective structure to his solution. 5 years won't give enough time for an person in power to develop on big ideas that might change the future of the organization.