Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Society is two-fold, benign people helping to improve society and deceptive individuals contriving to make more profits for their selfish motives. Scandals expose these immoral activities and sometimes bad characters of certain people regarded with utmost value. Therefore, the issue of scandals being a useful tool for showcasing problems that aren't mentioned by speakers or reformers is absolutely justifiable.

Scandals bring out the illegal activities done by various organizations to the common masses who are unaware of these problems and they work hard together to find appropriate solutions. For instance, during the British colonization, they introduced a farming in India known as 'Indigo Farming' that increases crop production to almost double than average. However, people were unaware of the detrimental effects, like rapid decrease in the soils' nutritive properties in later years, of such a method. Later this scandal was revealed and caused farmers to revolt against this ill practice. No speaker or reformer mentioned this during their speeches, since they were more concerned about other problems like increasing prices of the crops, eliminating the middle man in their trading process and others. Hence, such scandals are necessary to expose activities that are causing latent problems or will be prime reasons for conundrums in future.

Scandals also pave way for good reforms for a better future. Had the 'Indigo Farming' scandal not have been brought to limelight, there would not have been a more significant unity in struggling for India's independence from the British. Recent scandals like 'Volkswagen Emission Scandal' showed how car manufacturers exploited emission rules to make high performance cars. These cars emitted pollution beyond certain standardized benchmarks but was the common masses weren't aware of such an illegal activity until the scandal happened. Hence, with such scandals, there is a strive to improve laws that will help society coexist with Nature.It was rumoured that a lot of prominent reformers knew about this activity by Volkswagen, but didn't mention them because of the influence Volkswagen had on the automobile market. Therefore, even though reformers try to change the prevalent evil in the existing society, a lot of them are mere 'puppets' to magnanimous institutions and hence won't bring certain problems to light.

In conclusion, scandals are a way to bring certain problems infront of the people. Since speakers and reformers generally talk about problems that are widely known to people so that they gain more attention, catching secret illicit activities wouldn't have been possible otherwise.