The tourism industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years, and there are few places which are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourists visit.

Over the last five decades, tourism has surged rapidly in a lot of countries. A lot of people have started to visit various countries during holidays to experience their culture, food and natural or man-made attractions. Since, a lot of places haven't yet become tourist spots and are developing well, many people are of the opinion that tourism rarely benefits the host country. In this essay I'll discuss why I disagree with this opinion.

The rapidly growing tourism industry brings it's own share of problems. With more people coming in the country, there is always an increased chance of security threat and trading of illegal items. The government needs to invest more on weapons and military training to tighten it's Police force. Tourists leave behind a lot of littered garbage, plastics bags and other harmful substances that possess significant threat to the environment. Many beautiful spots have been destroyed by land wastes. For example, the holy river Ganges in northern India has been polluted with wastes left over by tourists, hence making it unfit to take a bath.

However, tourism is important for the hosting country, since tourists spend a lot of money while visiting different places which brings in revenue for the country. Hence, the government tries to push the tourism industry by building better infrastructure and investing in maintenance of these attractions. Additionally, with growth in business, more employment opportunities are created for the citizens of that country.

In my opinion, though there are numerous harmful aspects to tourism, these can be well controlled by being responsible citizens and imposing strict rules. Tourists should be fined for littering garbage and trying to disturb the peace of the place. The part of the revenue from this industry can be used by the government to improve military and Police so as to stop illegal activities.