We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue states that there is more learning associated from people sharing the same views than from someone who has contradictory opinions. Although people having similar views provide more reasons to strengthen a thought, a contrasting viewpoint gives more knowledge about different ways to look at a question and make a well-informed decision. Having looked at both sides of a coin, people can make better learnt decisions that might be propitious for society.

Discussing with people sharing the same views does give more examples to favour that outlook and develops more confidence in a person to tackle a problem. For instance, one of the leaders involved in supporting equal rights and equal pay for women in Kenya was always active on social media sites asking people around the globe about the methodologies she adopted to carry out her mission. Many like-minded individuals supported her actions, reiterated their own life stories and gave ideas about her course of plan. This brought a new change in Kenyan laws. This shows that people learn from others having a common viewpoint.

However, learning from like-minded people often gets flawed because of flattery. People trying to seek favour often nod their heads to please the person infront. For example, most of Emperor Akbar's ministers were sycophants and agreed to whatever view the king had. This costed the king dearly because of poor decisions like the defeat to the king of Hyderabad. Hence, a biased view is difficult is point out and gives a false impression about the idea.

Contradictory ideas makes the person think critically of his own views and examine the loopholes present. After a thorough analysis of both the views, a person is better able to make a balanced decision. Like, Emperor Akbar after the heavy blow in the battle against Hyderabad understood the mentality of his ministers. Thus he started a scheme of rewarding them based on the most convincing counter-argument that can be provided to his views. These contrasting ideas were recorded and analysed in detail to make better decision choices.

Opposing ideas are also great instruments to open new avenues to think on. For example, John Kennedy always kept ministers who were ready to challenge his views. This helped him to correct several mistakes in his ideas which otherwise might have caused disaster in the country.