"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument presented about a study of rhesus monkeys giving insights to the effect of birth order on stimulation levels is rife with holes because of three primary reasons. The facts comparing the study on monkeys to a human doesn't provide a strong base for accepting this explanation.

Given the sample of monkeys were all of one type (rhesus monkeys), the experiment already becomes skewed because they all might be having the same levels of hormonal secretion that is vastly different from other types. Hence, making a conclusion based on a biased dataset is not justifiable because the results won't be a true representation of the problem statement. It is mentioned that the study was done on 18 rhesus monkeys and compared with a human. However, there is no reference to how many humans were part of this experiment. For instance, if these results had been compared to only 2 infants only, the lack of necessary humans for coming to an unbiased decision makes the argument flawed.

Moreover, the stimulus used in the experiment is different for both monkeys and humans. The monkeys encountered unfamiliar faces that struck fear in them, while the humans met their parents after a long time that brought happy memories and a sense of relieve. Both the feelings are different and hence cannot be juxtaposed to compare their results. For example, it might had been possible that the first born human being experimented on was very close to his parents compared to his other siblings that weren't or even had family problems. This sense of irkness might have lowered their excitement to meet their parents, thereby not releasing enough cortisol hormone.

Apart from these, we were not given any figures on the amount of cortisol that was secreted by humans. Although it has been mentioned that the first born produced relatively higher levels, but that doesn't give an estimate as to how high were the values. If the amount secreted was more than four or five times it doesn't conform to the double amount secreted by the first born monkey.