The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"Nosinia is an herb that many users report to be as effective as prescription medications at fighting allergy symptoms. Researchers recently compared Nosinia to a placebo in 95 men and women with seasonal allergies to ragweed pollen. Participants in the study reported that neither Nosinia nor the placebo offered significant relief. However, for the most severe allergy symptoms, the researchers reported that Nosinia was more effective than the placebo in providing relief. Furthermore, at the end of the study, participants given Nosinia were more likely than participants given a placebo to report feeling healthier.We therefore recommend using Nosinia to help with your severe allergy symptoms.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states a news that appeared in anhealth newsletter which recommends Nosinia, a herb, to help people with severe allergy symptoms. There are many assumptions, for which the author has not provided any evidence. I would strongly disagrre with argument as it is flawed in numerous ways.

First of all, the experiment has been done with only 95 men and women which may not be the entire representative for the whole of the population. The sample population is very limited to conclude that the resukts obtained will be also be valid for the rest of the population. If the people who went through the experiment are healthy and immune enough, the results will not be accurate to describe others. If either of the cases were true, the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the news has not provided any supporting evidence to prove the researchers statement that Nosinia was more effective than placebo in providing relief for the most severe allergy symptoms. Whether this has been experimented or not? Are the results accurate enough to be applied to the whole of the population? Only if answers to these questions is provided, the researchers statement can be interpreted.

Moreover, there is a lack of evidence to recommend using Nosinia for severe allergy symptoms and also the severity of the symptoms has not been well explained. If Nosinia is suited for a particular symptom and not suitable for the other, it cannot be recommended to all of the severe symptoms as a whole. Additionally, the argument fails to explain how severe is highly severe. Only if the symptom causes harmful effects to the body such as skin deterioration it is very severe? The question to the above is not stated for further analysis.

In conclusion, the argument, as stated, rests on several unstated assumptions. Only when the author could provide more information and supporting evidences to the above assumptions, it is possible for the argument to be valid.