It is more important to keep our old friends than it is to make new ones

There is no shortage of debate about whether to keep our old friends than to make new friends. In my opinion, I strongly believe that it is more important to keep our old friedns than it is to make new ones. I believe this way because of three main reasons which I am going to discuss in the following essay.

Firstly, one of the main reason why it is more to keep old friends is because they know us very well and have taken part in our emotions. They know about our family, interactedwith our relatives and friends and have become a family. They know when we are sad and happy and have shared our feelings as theirs. My own personal experience is a complelling example of this. I have some school friends of mine who have become so close with my parents too. They look up to me and become happy and proud when I achieve great things in life and sad whenever things does not go well as I expected and failed. Hence, I strongly believe that they are more important than new friends.

Secondly, they had been in my harder situations in life when even family members were not and they even continue to remain the same. They have helped me in situations when I thought no one could help. My school friends even raised a significant amount of money for my father's surgery when my father underwent a kidney stone operation. I felt helpless at that time because no one helped me but my friends. Had they not contributed those finances, it would had been a neck wreck situation to me and should have sold my family assests. But that did not happen because of them. Hence, it cannot be put in words their importance in my life.

Finally, they are the main reasons why my childhood is happy and still memorable. We had a great joy in school days with full of fun and jokes all day. We used to play games in our homes after school gets over. We even made fun of people we dont like. There was a momentary situation in our school's annual day in which we participated in mockeries and dramas on stage which was my favourite event in my life. Thus, they are more imprtant to me.

On a conclusive note, I strongly believe that it is more important to keep old friends than to make new friends. I think this way because of the emotions they have shared, help they made and the joyful memories they had with me.