The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue at hand tries to solve environmental problems created by wastes from consumers by imposing strict rules on the amount of waste that a household can dump. Given such laws can limit the quantity of waste being generated it is the best way to fight increasing environmental connundrums.

This plan, although curbs the quantity of waste being generated, doesnot check the quality of wate. The biggest threat to environment is plastic and large amounts of this non-recyclable material is being dumped every day. For instance, Delhi, the capital of India, has been reported to have discared 1.7 million plastic bottles. People can control the amount of waste being thrown away, but can keep using plastic bottles and cause the same, if not more, harm to the environment. Although the plan at hand doesnot restrict the materials that can be accepted, imposing a limit on the amount of trash will force the residents to use permanent utensils like a ceramic mug instead of a plastic bottle or a small purse or a bag replacing small plastic pouches.

Restricting the quantity of wastes being accepted by the municipality will make residents of a town or city think wisely about their habits that leads to creation of wastes start curbing excess waste which will inturn limit environmental pressure to some extent. For example, supermarkets throwing away fruits and vegetables that perish will now have to think about limiting their stocks to reasonable amounts. Knowing that there are millions of starving people in this world, instead of throwing away excess food, people can donate their excess to various charitable organisations or homeless people. For instance, in a province in Canada around 1000 kids face diseases becasue of malnutrition, while 1300 kilograms of food is wasted every month. The government came up with a plan to fine supermarkets that threw excess food while reward them if they donated to charity. The plan reduced wastage by almost 61% as reported last year. Therefore, such limits work in favour of saving the environment.

In conclusion, a method like imposing strict limits on the amount of waste that every household can throw away is agreeably the best way to solve environmental pressure. Such laws increases awareness about the environment and create a sense of responsibility among the people.