Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.
Not every student has the knack or capability to score well in certain subjects. Some students in a class are good in Mathematics while some can draw well but
score poor in Mathematics. Hence, the issue is whether educational institutions should take up the responsibility to dissuade students from certain fields
of study where they might not prove to be successful. Helping students away from subjects in which they would not fare well is absolutely a necessary duty
of every educational institution.
Every student has to have a basic knowledge of every subject and should be taught these fundamental concepts by schools. For instance, even if a student fails
in basic History taught in elementary school, he should not be taken away from the class because he has to have a basic understanding of his culture and
traditional way of life. This will help him know how his ancestors have lived and learn from their mistakes. What would have happened if Christopher Columbus
had been thrown away from Geography class when he failed in early childhood? It was his knowledge of maps and using Geometry on geographical spaces that helped
him discovered what we today know as America. However, after a certain basic knowledge is imparted to every student, educational institutions shouldn't hold them
to persue studies they are going to fail.
Dissuading students from subjects that are difficult for them to understand or not interesting to them can help in a lot of ways. It can benefit the student in
focussing on the subjects in which they have a passion to work and maybe persue it as their future career option. One of the examples is the mathematical genius
Sir Albert Einstein. He was poor in German, History, Biology and a lot of courses. After dropping out of school, he concentrated completely on Mathematics and Physics
and came up with his highly acclaimed 'Theory of Relativity'. Although you may say that his school didn't take any responsibility to dissuade him from the subjects
he was scoring less, but my point is he could focus all his energy on working on something he enjoyed and succeeded in it. Had the school helped him earlier, he
might not had dropped out.
Therefore educational institutions play a major role in moving students out from subjects where they would fail, thereby releasing extra stress on the students
and helping them focus completely on what they love doing. This would produce better quality students and better products from their work.