"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material—which includes paper, plastic, and metal—should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

By citing the fact that town’s residents have been recycling their wastes by twice than they did before past two years, and the result of the recent survey pointing the responses of 90 percent of the respondents willing to do more recycling in the future, the author has come to the conclusion that the space available in the West Egg’s Landfill would last for considerably longer time than what has been predicted by the consultant two years ago. At the first sight, the argument seems convincing; however, on closer inspection, several alternative explanations could be made which could seriously undermine the conclusion. The author should provide evidences regarding the issues discussed below in order to fully evaluate the argument.

First of all, the author fails to provide reliable information about the quantity of wastes that the town is producing each year and the amount of wastes they are recycling. Recycling of the waste materials twice in amount does not necessarily mean that the residents are recycling high quantity of waste materials. It is possible that before two years, the town used to recycle 4 percent of the wastes and now they are recycling 8 percent of materials which could not bring substantial change in the space available in the landfill. Further, the author fails to provide possible increase in the waste production due to the increase in residents in the town in order to substantiate the argument.

Secondly, the author cites that the charges for the household garbage pick-up would double from the next month, and prematurely assumes that the amount of recycled materials will increase substantially from the next month. However, this assumption falls short given the lack of evidence. It is possible that the charge of garbage pick-up is extremely low in town and doubling the charge will not bring a substantial change in it. If it is the case, then people are more likely to invest their time in their job for more lucre rather than playing with the garbage.

Thirdly, the author fails to provide reliable data information about the number of participants present in the survey to evaluate the argument. Though 90 percent sounds great quantity, it does not represent real scenarios of the study. It is possible that there were 10,000 residents in the town and only 3,000 people participated in the survey, then it will be only 2,700 people who stated that they will do more recycling of the waste materials. And we are not known about the intentions of rest of the 7,300 residents. The author needs to provide actual number of respondents in order to support his conclusion.

In sum, though the argument seems plausible, it lacks its persuasiveness due to its reliance upon several unwarranted assumptions. The author needs to provide reliable evidences regarding the issues discussed above. In the absence of such evidences, the argument remains dubious and cannot be reasonably evaluated.