Two years ago consultants predicted that West Egg s landfill which is used for garbage disposal would be completely filled within five years During the past two years however the town s residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in p

In the memorandum, the author concludes that West Egg's landfill will not get filled within five years which is predicted by the consultants. The author has come to such a conclusion based on the evidence of increasing public enthusiasm in recyling activities and because of the fact that residents of West Egg are recyling twice the amount of material than the previous years. While the claim drawn in the argument might ultimately prove valid, the author needs to provide three specific evidences to bolster its validity.

First of all, the author fails to provide any evidence about recyling done in the previous years in West Egg Town. Perhaps, West Egg citizens were not so aware about the advantages of recyling and its benefits and hence recyling done before the past two years maybe very minute. If such is the case then the increase in recyling is not much. For example, previously only 50 tons of waste were recycled and the waste generated by West Egg Town is thousands of tons so even if the recyling is doubled it will be 100 tons which is not a significant amount. If the above scenario is true then the argument that the landfill will last longer than 5 years does not hold water.

Second of all, evidence regarding other garbage picking service is not provided by the author. It is possible, that there can be other garbage picking service available in the town which will pickup garbage for the same amount and hence even if the current garbage picking service increases it charges for other household garbage, citizens will simply hire the one who is providing it for lower prices. Thus the argument that people will recycle more in order to neutralize the expenses of garbage pickup is not reliable and more evidence is needed to maintain the validity of the argument.

Lastly, the author presumes that people are giving their honest opinion in the survey. Maybe people in order to maintain their social image inflated their response regarding recycling and in reality they will not be recycling as much. There is a possibility that the respondents to the survey are not from West Egg Town, they simply thought that the survey is universal to all the people and filled it, consequently it proves the survey can be bogus and hence the survey cannot be considered reliable in order to display the town's commitment towards recyling in future. If the above cases is true the conclusion that West Egg Town's landfill will be sufficient for the waste generated in future does not hold merit.

In conclusion, while the author may not have evaluated the given situation of people's commitment towars recyling and lasting of landfill in future years in its entirety, the conclusion and information associated with it cannot be written off either. There is no smoke without fire and the author must have had compelling reasons to make such a strong conclusion, however, since the reasons have not been listed the argument as it stands cannot be said holistically.

More evidence is needed to make the given argument stronger.