The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author here has mentioned that employees' productivity can be increased by implementing electronic monitoring of their internet usage. Though the reason mentioned is logical at the first glance, there are some things to be considered before jumping into conclusion.

Though reducing the number of hours spent on personal and recreational activities might increase the productivity of the employee, one has to monitor them for the fact that this time will be properly used for official purposes. If there exist an evidence which shows more time being spent on online games and shopping during work hours, that would strengthen the author's argument.

Moreover, installing software on the company computers to detect employees' Internet use might monitor one's online activities. But there could also be employees who waste time playing offline games during work hours, which might not be detected by the software. There can also other loopholes which once identified, can easily be misused by the employees'. To strengthen or weaken the argument we must have additional information as to; quantify the number of hours used for all the activities in the office.

In addition to that, there is no direct correlation between overall profits and the number of hours spent by the employees'. There could be other ways which can contribute to the profits such as efficient work rather than working for more number of hours.Therefore a presence of a valid, reliable survey depicting the number of hours spent by the employees' in various activities along with the things contributing to the profits of the company is essential to evaluate the given argument.