The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president."In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from thei

The argument here presented by vice president of Climpson Industries states that the company should implement electronic monitoring of employees’ internet use from their workstations. This argument fails to maintain several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To satisfy this conclusion, the vice president season is that software installation on company computers will prevent employees from wasting time on the job. However, careful; scrutiny reveals that it provides little justification to the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument presented here is considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that employees who use internet inappropriately on workstation need to be identified and punished for reducing work hour of company. This is merely and the assumption made without solid ground. The argument does not provide the trend of using internet for recreational activities by employees in the workstation. There is a possibility that the employees are using the internet for their immediate uses like paying the electricity bill, online transaction from their bank account etc. There is also the possibility that they are using the internet to see some international news to become up-to-date and to become fresh from long hour official work on the computer. However, the argument would have been better if it provides the tendency and train of using internet by employees besides the work of the company.

Secondly, the vice president argues here that the employees who are using internet other than office work should be identified and punished. This again is a weak analogy used by the argument and it does not demonstrate the clear correlation between the punishment on employees and improvement of the company. He fails to explain that what kinds of punishment would give to those employees. He also fails to calculate what negative consequences might arise after punishing the employees. One possibility is that the employees may protest against the company management. Another possibility is that this tighten rule and law may diminish the dignity of the employees.

Moreover, the argument states that software installation on company computers will prevent employees from wasting time on the job. However, careful judgment of depiction reveals that it provides little support for the vice president’s recommendation in various critical aspects and raises some skeptical questions. For example, what is the reliability of the source that the employees are using the internet for recreation activities? If they are spending little time from a long working hour for refreshment, is it necessary to tighten and punished them? How much it will cost to install that software on company computers to monitor the employees? Is it affordable? Is there any guarantee that this provision will not deteriorate the dignity of employees? What the president does not have to think properly about the proposal of the vice president, whether he is buttressed by some interest group or not? Without convincing to these questions, the reader is left with an impression that the vice president’s argument is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the vice president should provide clear and concrete information about the tendency and train of using internet by employees besides the work of the company. The information of affordability and suitability of new software system to monitor employees would also help to strengthen the argument.