When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the passage tries to find the solution how to bring back the popularity to the Stanley Park. He or she compares two different parks and makes the conclusion that the best way to gain popularity among people is to provide a lot of benches. Perhaps, the proposed measure will bring the lost popularity, however, the author bases his or her argumentation on quite shacky assumptions. Hence, in order to be sure about the conclusion of the text, the assumptions should be analyzed properly, otherwise, the Stanley Park ventures to be forgotten at all.

The given passage states that recently mounted video cameras in the park's parking lots revealed the drop of popularity, it says that it has only 50 cars per day. Conseqeutnly, any reader may conclude that this park is visited people by cars only. However, it is quite strange moment to measure the popularity of the park by number of cars in the lots. Probably, there is few people who visit the park by car, and a lot of people walk to the park. Hence, this assumption should be checked, otherwise, the author of the passage seriously risks to make the wrong decision.

The second point of the text is the information about the Carlton Park which is compared with the Stanley Park. Perhaps, it is not a good idea to compare two parks. Hence, the assumption is that these two parks have the comparable characteristics, for example that Stanley Park is not so big, and it is reasonable to compare it with the Carlton Park. Only, in this case, the author's argumentation will have the solid base.

The last assumption of the text is that the Stanley Park does not have enough benches. Probably, the decision to add more benches in the park may worsen the situation. For example, mostly the Stanley Park is used for jogging and other activities but not for seating on benches. And this measure may undermine the popularity among joggers, because it will not be enough space for jogging.

To sum up, the author tries to find the best solution for the park, however, he or she fails to provide strong arguments for the propsed measure. Hence, the pointed moments should be analyzed properly.