The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of a small but expanding business tries to find better place for a new store. He or she supposes that the best place for it is Plainsville town, there most of people lead a healthy life style. It could be quite true that this town may bring a great profit for this company, however, at the same time, it is not so obvious and clear, because of the argumentation of the passage. After a brief consideration, it becomes clear that it bases on assumptions that could be easily false. Hence, in order to be sure about this place, the the vice president should examine them properly.

The first assumption is about information that should strengthen the arugumentation, however, it creates more questions than certainty. The author of the text states that Plainsville merchants have the all time high sales of running shoes and sport equipment. Hence, the assumption is that such high sales will last quite long. However, it could be easily seasonal sales. For example, the most part of merchants made a great discount for these products before a new collection, and it is the main reason of the high sales. However, it does not state that the town has a stable demand for such products.

The second assumption is subject to the same logic. It states that a local gym club is full. It is not so persuasive argument in this case, because, it states only about one gym club. It could be a lot of reasons why it is full for this moment. For example, a lot of young men try to gain a good fit before summer. However, it never lasts long.

The third assumption is about the stable demand for healty products in the future. The author thinks that the new fitness program which was implemented in schools will create the new generation who will be thier future customers. There is no doubt that such forecast is too brave to base on it own business plan. The schoolchildren may easily reject this program. Consequently, this argument is not relevant at all.

To sum up, the author made not the best try to persuade the readers that the best place is Plainsville, because he or she bases the arugmentation on flabby and shaky assumptions, which could be easily false. Before making such crucial decision, the author should check these arguments once again. Otherwise, he or she seriously ventures to have low profitable business in this town.