Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Dr. Karp tries to investigate the question about the rearing system on Tertian Island. Recently he conducted the study that should have answered the question. Moreover, he finds the previous study of Dr. Field not accurate, because of its flaws in the method. Probably, Dr. Karp is right and the Field's study was not accurate, however, Dr. Karp's argumentation, which is given in the text, is not so obvious and clear. Hence, in order to be sure whether the Dr. Karp is right, he should answer important questions, otherwise, he ventures to make a wrong conclusion.

The given passage states that Dr. Karp study was made recently, while Dr. Field study was conducted 20 years ago. There is no doubt that such a considerable time span should be questioned. Especially, considering, a today pace of the global development, it easily could be true that the investigated island was subjected to the steep changing. For example, its culture and tradition could be changed to Western type. Consequently, in order to be sure whether doctors investigated the same culture and the same traditions, this question should be answered firstly. Otherwise, it may undermine the whole Dr. Karp argumentation.

Even if the first question is answered positively, another question is still serious one. The given passage states that Dr. Karp interviewed children from group of islands. However, it is not clear whether Dr. Karp interviewed children from Tertia Island. If it was not made, the Dr. Karp conclusion about Dr. Field method could be turned wrong, because it is obviously that the subject of the study should be the same. Otherwise, it is quite risky to make a scientific conslusion basing only the suggestion. Hence, this qustion cannot be left without the answer.

The last question is about children's answers. The Dr. Karp claims that children talk about their parents. But, such a general assertion could mean everything. Probably, Dr. Field was right and children are reared by the whole village, and the children just miss their parents, and so, they express their emotions. Hence, did Dr. Karp ask children direclty about who bring them up? It will shed a light on the problem.

To sum up, Dr. Karp makes quite a brave conclusion about dr. Field method, however, at the same time; his argumentation needs to be more accurate and solid, because it has serious flaws in it. In order to avoid it, the pointed question should be answered.