The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the passage tries to find the truth what kind of way is better for students - assign more homework or less. He or she bases the argumentation on survey data. This survey was conducted in two districts Sanlee and Marlee. Readers may conclude that assigning less homework is much more advantageous, because Marlee students have better grades. Probably, the given argument holds true, however, it should be supported by additional evidence, because the text has some vague moments, which may undermine the coherency and conclusion of the passage.

The first point that should be discussed is whether these two districts have the same curriculum. The text states that survey was held between math and science teachers. Hence, the main question is about academic programs. Perhaps, Marlee students have ordinary academic program there is no a lot math and science. While Sanlee stundents have the program, which includes the deep understanding of science and math. For example, this program teaches them for IT or construction spheres, where math and science are obligatory to know rather good. Hence, the author should provide evidence that these two districts have the same academic programs. Only in this case, the argument will be valid.

Even if the first point is answered positively, the next moment still needs to be supported. The author states that Marlee sudents earn better grades overall. There is no doubt that this argument has its weak point. It says overall. However, the survey data does not explicitly state the math and science academic performance. Perhaps, Marlee students have quite low grades, because of less assigned homework. Hence, the author should provide statistic data, which would include academic performance of math and science. It will certainly strengthen the argument.

To sum up, the author of the text failed to persuade readesrs, because his or her argumentation has at least two weak moments, which do not allow to be sure about the author's conclusion. In order to make the text more persuasive the author should provide more accurate data of the survey.