The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggests that a store selling health food and other health-related products should be build in plainsville. The reason behind this is that according to the authors research, Plainsville has been selling running shoes and gym eqiupment at an all-time hight.Moreover, the local health clup has been reported to have more members than ever, thus assuring that a new generation of customers will be lining up for the new store if it were to be build. In addition, with the school children in Plainsville being required to participate in a program that emphasizes the importance of regular exercise at an early age will indeed ensure that the store does well. However, the author fails to realize how three important assumptions can set up the store for failure. Therefore, it is important to have all the facts before deciding to open up a store soley on assumptions.

First, The author assumes that just because Plainsville has many residents he thinks that majority of them will chose to be regular customers at this brand new store; however, what are the chances that actually happens? For instance, if a store is opened in an area that is highly populated that does not garantee that the store will be successfull. Moreover, the author fails to awknoledge the residents average anual income. Plainsville may indeed have a lot of residents, however, if famalies are on a buget they will not have the funds to spend extra money on this new store. Therefore, if these examples would hold true about Plainsville and it's residents than the authors statment regarding building a store in this area becomes weakened since not enaugh evidence is provided about the residents who live in Plainsville.

Futhermore, it is reported that running shoes and exercise eqipment are at an all-time high. But in reality do sales of shoes and exercise eqiupment ganratee that the residents who live in Plainsville will decide to shop at this new store? The author is quick to jump to conclusion that just because shoes and equipment are selling well, it is important to understand some of the reasons as to why. For example, there is a big chance that there was some kind of sale going on and many individuals decided to make a purchase of these items at a discounted price. Moreover, many individuals purchase items online now. Therefore, it may also be that residents from other parts of the state could have purchased at these particular stores for many reasons. Thus, jumping to conclusion that just because shoes and exercise equipment are selling at an all-time high it is important to have all the facts. If it was reported that individuals did indeed purchase these items because of a discount or online for whatever reason, than the authors claim that building a new store in Plainsville will be a success is doomed to fail.

Finally, the author states that schoolchildren are required to participiate in programs for healthy living. However, it does not follow that these school children will all ask their parents for money to shop at this new store. While, many schoolchildren will enjoy the benfit of their new program and healthy living it does not mean that they will beg their parents for money to shop at this store. For instance, at the end of the day schoolchildren are still motivated to buy games and junk food rather than healthy products. Thus, building a store with the assumption that schoolchildren will be regular customers is a bad bussiness move and is relying on customers in which they do not have the power or the money to make purcheses themselvs.

In Sum, while it is a good bussiness move to expand and open up new locations the author fails to provide good evidence as to why a new health store should be build in Plainsville. The author came to the conclusion to build a new store mainly on three assumptions that have been debunked. First, not enough information is provided about the residents who live in Plainsville. Secondaly, sales of running shoes and exercise equipment does not follow that the residents of Plainsville made all of these purchases. Thirdly, the author assumes that just because the schoolchildren in Plainsville are required to participate in health related programs that they actually chose to live healthy lives. Therefore, because of these threee assumptions and missing informations such as facts the author is to naive about opening up a new store in a new location with little information about the actuall residents.