Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Individuals who achieve success are the ones who never gave up on their dreams. The statement prompt suggests that institutions should have a say who is eligible to be in a certain field. However, I would have to strongly disagree with this bold statement for three simple reasons.

First, institutions can ruin individuals lives if they were to convince students to pursue other majors when the student is clearly excited and motivated for a particular field. For instance, who would even decide who is unlikely to succeed? Does the GPA really tell the full story of one’s ability to be successful later on in life and in the chosen field, I say no. Therefore, I must strongly disagree that coming to the conclusion that a student should not be admitted to a major of his choice because he is unlikely to succeed later in life is an invalid argument.

Furthermore, students have good semesters and bad semesters. Therefore, would a decision to talk a student out of his/her major come the second they have a bad semester? For example, if a student had a family tragedy and lost their motivation for school for a semester, is that really a reason to assume that the student is unlikely to succeed now? Students are all powerful human beings and all have their strengths and weaknesses; however, to dissuade a student from pursuing their field of study is not only morally wrong but also showing a bad example by informing other students to not even try and continue in their major if they are lacking.

Finally, what about students who struggle during school years but once they enter their field of study, they become the best at what they do. Thus, is being seen as unlikely to succeed a valid argument as to why students should be talked out of pursuing their field of study? For instance, what if all the famous actors we have today quit when they were told they were not good enough, or when NBA players were told they will never make it. The pattern becomes clear that the individuals who have to face adversity and obstacles are the ones who usually come out swinging and prove everyone wrong. The grit and passion they have for acting, playing sports, and in this case, pursuing a certain major, no one is able to take that passion and motivation away. Therefore, I would strongly disagree that institutions should have any say in what career paths students choose.

In sum, while, I am aware that many may disagree on the basis that if students are doomed to fail it is in their best interest if someone intervenes and politely ask them to pursue a different major, I would argue otherwise. People do not have the power to tell one’s future, therefore, no one is allowed to take something away from someone based on an assumption. In doing so, a student’s life will get ruined and students might live with regret and 'what if's' for the rest of their lives. Therefore, because of these three reasons, I strongly disagree that institutions should have no say when it comes to what field of study students should pursue.