In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues in favor of increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. The author notes that lowring the speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour did not really work, but rather has caused other problems such as speeding. However, while the author brings up a good idea on how to solve the issue, he/she fails to provide three important peices of evidence in support of his/her claim.

First, the author presents faulty evidence as to why Prunty County should follow Butler County's example. What evidence do we have that these two highways are identical, and both share similar road structures? For instance, maybe Butler County's highway had the resources, and space to expand the highway and work on the road conditions. However, what evidence do we have that Prunty County in return has both the resources and road space available to extend? Therefore, without answering this question the author leaves out inportant evidence.

Furthermore, the author is presenting an idea to improve highway safty, however, if the drivers in Prunty County exceed the speed limit how is increasing lane widths going to stop drivers from speeding? Is it safe to assume that just because the lane widths are increased that drivers would not speed and try and cut others drivers off? For instance, if speeding is an issue maybe other law enforcement is needed such as a speed radar. Therefore, it is dificult to accept this argument without providing any evidence that indeed increasing lane widths will increase highway safty and stop drivers from speeding.

Finally, how long was the speed limit in place in order to have a good sense if this change actually is going to have long term effects? The authors fails to provide evidence, thus makes an assumption that while the speed limit was lowered accidents were still happening on the highway. What are the chances that if the author looked at five years worth of accidents that he/she will not see significant decreases in accidents? For example, maybe drivers who drove on the Prunty County highway once a month or so did not notice that new sign, and as a result kept the same speed as they did in the past. Therefore, failing to provide this type of evidence decreases the chance that this author will get Prunty County to adopt same changes as Butler County.

In sum, as it stands now the argument that the author has made fails to provide crucial evidence that is needed to have a better sense if this new changes will actually work for Prunty County. Therefore, by leaving important evidence out such as if both highways are identical, if both County's have the same resources, and the number of years worth of data presented the author is left with many holes in his/her argument.