Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author takes a firm stance that all colleges and universities should adopt similiar honor codes as Groventon, which called for all students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors. The author sugests that all colleges should follow the same path and place students in charge of monitoring one another rather then teachers motitoring the classrooms to ensure no one cheats. However, the author fails to adress three important questions that may weaken the argurment that was made for all colleges and universities to follow.

First, the author fails to adress an important question, did the students agree not to tell thier superior's of their classmates cheating? The author overlooks this important question that may play a big role if a cheatings case is reported. Is it possible that the students also made another code between themself's in which facualty is not aware of? For instance, when students are in college everyone has the same goal, and that is to pass their courses. Thus, before the author can suggest this propisition he/she needs to answer this important question, otherwise, the authors argument falls flat.

Furthermore, another question that raises eyebrows is if the students are all working together to cheat. As a result, the number of cases reported have dropped. Could it be possible that the new honor code is not to report your fellow classmate? For instance, nobody likes to be the snitch so what if the students decided that whoever should report a fellow classmate, the majority of other students will make sure to make the person's life a living hell who reports. Therefore, it is hard to propose this propisition without having these important questions answered.

Finally, can students really be trusted when it comes to passing or failing a course? What are the chances that these students who agreed to honor the code will not violate it if their best friend is on the verge of failiure, and must cheat in order to pass. What are the chances that the best friend will chose an honor code over a friends future success? For instance, with less cases being reported each year it becomes suspecious as to what the real reason behind why so few cheating cases are being reported. The author, fails to concider these important questions or give assurance that such behaviour will not take place.

In sum, the author failed to adress key questions that other colleges or universities may have upon this propisition. The evidence in which the author provided was not sufficient or enough for other colleges or universities to follow by example. Key questions such as: If students made another secret honor code not to report, students secretly working together, or can the students really be trusted with thier own faith when it comes to cheating? Thus, by leaving these burning questions out the author fails to convience other colloges or universities to adopt a similiar honor code.