The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument written by the vice president of Health Naturally appears to be convincing, but on a closer look, it is flawed on various different aspects.

Firstly, the residents of Plainsville seem to be interested in healthy living through exercise. The chain of Health Naturally majorly seem to be selling health foods. While some people may be interested in buying such foods for weight loss, the majority of people might be uninterested in eating "health foods" like protein bars, and various other "healthy snacks". Many of the so called healthy snacks contain copious amounts of artificial sweeteners and sugars. This will not only lead to weight gain instead of weight loss, but will also affect the health of the consumers. Now a days, due to various platforms through which knowledge can be gained, many residents would have already been aware of this, and will thus prefer homemade food instead of store bought food. Also, the phrase "other health-related products" is vague. This can mean exercise equipments. But since the membership in the health clubs are at all-time highs, and other stores report tremendous sales of exercise equipments, the store may already be late in offering more equipments.

Secondly, the vice president mentions opening a store in Plainsville as a plan. Thus, one may assume that there have been no talks about this and the matter is still under consideration. By the time the store is approved and the opening of the store takes place, it may have already been too much time wasted and the chain may thus be late in the game, due to which the profits may not be as high as expected.Also, there is only a mention that there are many citizens in Plainsville. There is no estimate provided to support this claim.

Thirdly, it is mentioned that the children are "required" to participate in the program. The duration of the program is not specified, and the aims and goals of the program are not mentioned. Thus, it is unclear what exactly the program is about. Since it is mentioned as participation in the program is "required" one will assume that the program is compulsory for all children. Anything made compulsory, especially for children, may have a negative effect if the child does not like it. Compulsion of the program does not guarantee that the child will demand "healthy food" from the parent. Children being children, will always have a natural tendency to prefer junk food over healthy food.

Thus, had the vice president clearly explained the commencement date of the store, the number of residents, the ingredients of the health food, other products available in the chain, and the details of the program, the argument would have been cogent.