Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future. Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Facts are pieces of information. But every piece of information is not called a fact. A piece of information is called a fact if and only if it is proven. Anything that is assumed by a person, is not a fact as facts are universally agreed and proven.

Firstly, as we know a fact is a proven piece of information, it means that according to the prevalent knowledge, the information is correct. It is not necessary that the logic on which the fact is based is incorrect. There are certain things, which remain constant whether it was earlier, or in the coming years. For example, the laws of physics can never change. This is because gravity remained the same thing even before it was discovered. Though the name might be different in the coming years or earlier, it does not change the core concept.

Secondly, the reason is flawed. This is because whatever someone just "assumes" is not a fact. As mentioned earlier, facts are proven. This is a misconception of the individual if that person just assumes a piece of information to be a fact. One has to verify sources and references before calling any information a fact. It is only after cross checking various reliable sources, can one assume that the information is a fact. Information from any random dubious source, or information which is self assumed to be a fact according to the individual, without actually testing it or proving it is not called a fact.

All the more, facts exist to elucidate a concept. It helps connect the concept and the phenomenon, serving as a plug hole. Thus, it is for the better understanding of the individual, that facts are formed. One can argue saying that the reason they do not believe in facts is because they are based on concepts. There are certain concepts, which change with time, because humans tend to get a better understanding of the concept due to improvement in technology. A concept which was agreed on earlier, may no longer hold true, as the concept could be improper due to lack of proper understanding of the phenomenon earlier. Thus, with improvement in technology, we can understand the phenomenon better and the earlier concept, which seemed to be right, can be revised.

Without forming any facts and assuming that it is wrong, no further improvement will ever be made, as in the future whenever a new fact is formed, people will again assume it to be wrong. Thus, not believing a fact just because it will be proved to be incorrect in the future, will lead to not believing facts ever, thus leaving many phenomena unexplained. This leads to a paradox, because if facts are not believed, no facts in the future will be believed, as at some point or the other, those facts will also be refuted. So should one ever believe in facts? To conclude, I think believing in facts will allow us to progress further and help in modifying the facts, to finally reach the proper fact.