Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The above argument states that the woven baskets were a characteristic of the Palean villages since it was only found in that particular geographic location. The discovery of these baskets in the neighboring village of lithos however, castes a doubt on the uniqueness of the Palean baskets. Before jumping on to any conclusion it is only fair that we have look at all the evidence available for such a claim.

Firstly, it is important to know about the people of Lithos. Whether they were capable of building boats and travelling away from their local villages. It might be possible that these people travelled to the Palean villages and learned the peculiar weaving techniques and successfully emulated it in their villages.

Secondly, in the prehistoric period people used leaves, animal skins, flowers and other naturally occurring substances to decorate their art. Due to the absence of modern technological tools the Arcadian human only used normal human labor to carry out weaving operations. Along with it if the two villages had similar weather it is likely that they have developed similar flora and fauna in these locations. This might have unknowingly resulted in similar craftwork given the fact that modern developed technology was absent during that times.

Lastly, humans learned to make patterns by observing the nature around him. The two villages were separated from the Brim river. The ecological system around one common river might have led to the development of similar pattern in the handiwork. Hence, it becomes vital to learn more about the cultural and natural diversity of the two villages.

Furthermore, it can be said that more information is needed to either support or weaken the claims made in the above argument. The presence of these information can lead us to different findings thus opening a new bunch conclusions. The mere presence of these baskets in another village and the geographically difficult accessibility are weak claims to make any credible comments on the uniqueness of the Palean baskets.