Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that the so-called Palean baskets were not unique to Palea only because they have been discovered in another village across the river. However, there could be multiple other reasons as to why these baskets might have been found in Lithos.

Even though no evidence of boats for transportation across the Brim river have been found, it is possible that any remains of the mode of transportation have been eradicated over time. It would also make more sense for the archeologists to perform a thorough research on any evidences of boat decks or ancient drawings and sketches of bo...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.