Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The author here presents some reasons as to why the Pealean baskets would not be actually just 'Palean'because other villages could have made it too, however, the arguments are flawed and there are several reasons as to why this is so.

Since the woven basket has a distinctive feature which is unique it is quite surprising that it would end up on the other side of the river where paleans could not have gone to. But it is not evident enough to say that this basket is not unique to the paleans. Because first of all the author says that no boats have been found, but it does imply that no boats will ever be found. It might be that boats are long gone and in the earlier days the boats were present and the Paleans did indeed travel across the river from time to time. Also what if the river wasn't even there in the first place? What if in earlier times the whole land was just one and paleans also lived on the so-called other side of the river, that eventually got separated slowly due to the formation of the river as the water source from somewhere else opened up and obviously it had to go somewhere. Hence the river got created and now it baffles us how they could cross when in fact they could have just walked all over the place before the river came into existence.

There is also the possibility that the river might have dried up during draughts which would allow the paleans to go across to the other land and spread their civilization to other areas like that. Who knows? No one knows. But there are so many possibilities that just reduces the likelihood of the thought of assumption that paleans could never have crossed the river to send them the prominent woven basket with their unique little pattern.

And not to forget they could have taken the long route. They could have gone from behind all the way until from another place they could cross the river then they could have returned to the other side giving the illusion that they might have crossed the river with a boat, when in fact they didn't need any boat. And even if they did use a boat, then much better. Maybe their boats got washed up someday during heavy rain or some other catastrophic water event, who knows again? No one.

So the evidence of their boat not being found intimates a weak possibility that they themselves did not send their baskets on the other side. We also see the specifics about the distinctive feature , what if the unique feature is actually a logo that earlier people used and were known to many people and not just paleans? In that case, the basket might not be unique to them afterall.