To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The important characteristics of a society is an interesting topic to learn about, but to research and understand about it, we have to delve into the human connections that form within people. I partially agree to the statement regarding the fact that we have to study the major cities to learn about the significant aspects of the society. For several reasons that I will state here, I believe it is also important to study the minor cities as well as the rural parts of a country to find out how a society really functions.

In major cities we mainly have an innumerable amount of humans constantly working their daily jobs to earn a living. So here their actions are rather perfunctory and limited, for example we can have a CEO, who is too worried about his company’s financial decisions, or we can have a labourer who just works whole day to earn a living for his family. No matter the job, the actions of the society is rather fixed and explicit. Not to say we cannot gain any characteristics of the society from this place, but rather a limited one from a major city.

Much of the important characteristics could actually be acquired from rural areas because that’s what life used to be several hundred years ago before the modern age. Lives in there are much more interesting to study and the society over there is much more bonded and there is a lot of variety. Therefore this is where much of the important characteristics of society can be learnt assimilated from. I believe this is the ‘real society’ in which people are supposed to live about, but due to industrialization and the advent of machines we have come about a society which is rather parochial. But, in rural areas, we tend to have people who are happier and cheerful, and not bound to the stresses and tensions of the modern world, and therefore learning about society in such a place is definitely utilitarian as compared to the learning them from a major city.

Overall, even though some of the aspects of society can be grasped from the major cities, the most important ones can be extracted from the minor cities and the rural parts of the country where society is much more real and genuine.