Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and su

Educational institutions definitely play an important part in developing and shaping a students’ future. So it of prime concern whether they should intervene on which fields of study a student is opting. I partially agree with the fact that those institutions should indeed help a student by discouraging them from choosing an area where they might not succeed in.

Students themselves are oftentimes quite confused themselves on which fields they should go and they either follow up with their friends or they follow what their parents tell them to do. However, this will be a bad choice because they might not succeed in it, most likely because they are not good at that field or they are not engrossed in it. The institution will have a better idea on which areas the student is excellent at, and advise them according to that. If this happens, then students are most likely on their path to success. For example if a student is good at maths and loves science, then obviously the institution would persuade him for science-related fields like engineering, computer science, etc, so if the students, for any reason, would be inclined to a field of study which is not related to science, then it is best that the academic body save them by dissuading them from this area. As success is the prime goal of many individuals on this planet, thereby by helping students choose their correct path, the institution is doing a rather magnanimous deed.

However, if success is not all that we cared about, then this would not be the right thing to do. In cases where a student does not care about success, but rather cares about which fields interest him and which he is passionate about, then it is of vital importance that he should not opt a subject area that does not interest him even though the educational body encourages him to do that. There are many unhappy people on this planet only because they don’t love what they do, and in fact around 80% of people actually do not love their job. So if a students’ goal is to stay happy and blissful then it is essential that they just choose what they love to do rather than trying to delve into an area which eventually might make them gloomy.

It is then better, that the educational institutions aid their students by letting them know which fields of studies might not make them succeed, however, they should also probe more on whether the student really is passionate for that area or are they just choosing it for success, and ultimately guide them towards contentment and not just towards success.