The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner."Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central

The letter uncovers the concerns of the store owners regarding the decline of customers in their area over the past two years. The proposed solution is to ban skateboarders in that area whom the store owners presume to be the culprit of their customers’decline. However certain questions need to be answered to fully understand whether or not this plan will actually improve the situation or not.

First of all, is the popularity gain of skateboard users and the decline of customers really proportional ? Just because they happened at the same area does not indicate that they are connected. It could be possible that there was a newly built skateboard area which slowly gained attention to all skateboarders, which resulted in the increase. It is unlikely that the increased number of skateboarders would preclude the arrival of customers in that area.The decrease in customers is probably due to another reason, for example, they might have found a better place to shop with better prices and better variety.

Secondly, before commencing the ban, we have to determine whether there are actually any new plaza nearby which could have started the gradual decrease of customers. It could be that Central Plaza’s items is too expensive for people, or that its items are of little variety, or it has outdated items not desired by people. So everyone started to go to the other one and hence the decrease.

Thirdly, the amount of litter and vandalism near the plaza could have left the customers unsatisfied and obligated them to go to another place to shop. Therefore, another plan could be to clean all the litter and repair the vandalism, and also to put warnings about sanctions on vandalism, so that this is prevented in the future. Hence, this is also an important issue that needs to be answered .

Finally, is banning skateboarding going to increase customers? It could actually be the quite opposite. It could be possible that the numbers of people currently shop also include the skateboarders, their relatives and their family, and so banning them would further decrease those numbers. Even worse, banning them might create hostility between the store owners and the skateboarders resulting in subsequent vandalism and a more dire situation than is.

Therefore, it is clear that the store owners should do a proper analysis and answer all these queries and come to the conclusion on whether banning skateboarders would have any significant or opposing effect.