The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal."A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situ

The study reveals that rhesus monkeys develop more cortisol if they are the firstborn infant, during the more stimulating circumstances. However I would like to give another substitute explanation which might be a counterpart to the explanation given above.

First of all, the study is only on rhesus monkeys, not any other variety, and it might be plausible that only those monkeys are producing higher cortisol, maybe because they have adapted to be precautious of their predators, and so the firstborn must be more aware of its surroundings since it has got no partners to help him and so maybe its just in their genes that their natural cortisol levels must be high. Nevertheless, we shouldn’t jump to the conclusion that birth order relates to the cortisol levels as proposed by the author.

Secondly, it is also quite natural that a firstborn child will likely be alone in the environment without having any siblings, so he will become more afraid of anything that shows up to him. So their cortisol levels will definitely be high. If there were his siblings with him, he would be less afraid and hence less cortisol would be developed. So it is less likely that it has anything to actually do with their birth order.

Also, the paragraph asserts that firstborn humans also develop higher levels of cortisol in stimulating environments. However there is no example or evidence to back this up, and neither has the author provided any research based results on this, as obviously a more larger number of babies would have to be observed to conclude that their cortisol levels are indeed high. It might also be possible that all humans, whether firstborn or not, develop greater levels of cortisol during a frightening situation. More research needs to be done on this.

And lastly, the fact that first time pregrant monkeys were more stimulated that their counterparts, most probably is not an evidence for the effect of birth order on the monkey’s stimulation. But rather, it is a natural inherent fight or flight situation which makes the monkey think its something harmful and that is why its cortisol levels go up. Once it goes through the process of birth without facing any life threatening problems, it realizes it is nothing harmful and so that fight or flight effect subsides.

Overall, I would like to state that the author has jumped into a conclusion from several misaligned facts and the conclusion can be something rather opposite to that as stated in this argument paragraph.