Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the so-called ‘Palean’ woven basket featuring a unique pattern attached on it could not possibly originate from the village of Palea as was upheld by people before after the occurrence of an incident that archeologists in recent days came to discover a similar basket situated in another village adjacent to Palea which is called Lithos. Considering the further investigation that pointed out that no Palean boats were detected nearby and the Brim River separating two villages is so deep and broad that it was impossible for ancient men to cross it, the conclusion was reinforced. Similarly sound and appropriate, loopholes are rife and I would like to say that more evidence is entailed to consolidate author’s argument over this issue.

The recent discovery, cited by the author, of a similar basket in Lithos is in no way linked with its stemming from there. Due to their proximity, inhabitants of two villages could have had an intimate relationship, which means that the interaction between them might have been quite frequent. It might be the case that the Palean people transmitted their valuable ideas to the people in Lithos and also presented them with techniques and skills on weaving those baskets. It is also highly probable that economic transactions ensured that commodity on one side of the river were accessible to those on the other. Thus the evidence on those mentioned above, if authenticated, can greatly undermine the validity of his argument.

Furthermore, the author claimed that the Brim River is deep and broad but what it used to be he did not describe. Geographic patterns are liable to change over a long period of time induced by natural disasters. The tectonic hazard can not only exact a toll on people by and large but also has the capability to change geography. For example, an earthquake can warp a landscape to the extent that fractures will emerge in the earth’s crust and a clifflike ridge is to be created. Therefore what now turns out to be a river can be a piece of compact land long ago. To strengthen his/her argument, the author would benefit from implementing a comprehensive survey on the origin of the Brim River to take a look at what it initially was.

Additionally, the author made a claim that no boats were found in the nearby region, thus asserting the conclusion, which I am fiercely objected to. The boat in the prehistoric time could have been made from wood, a substance easy to rot away, rather than contemporary material such as carbon steel or aluminium alloy with a quality of withstanding harsh environment. With time passing by, the splash of water, the attack of gales as well as the decomposition in the soil could all have made a great impact on its exterior outlook. It might have been left with only a fractional piece buried deeply, hard to make out with the naked eye. The evidence that the material used to manufacture boats at that time was limited and only confined to wood, if verified, could potentially weaken the position the author holds.

The author does not take into account the intimacy people living on two sides might have nurtured, the shifting geographical patterns and the characteristic of the material from which boats were built. More evidence are thus needed to guarantee the argument the author held is fully persuasive.