Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author’s argument that Palean baskets were not uniquely palean is flawed. In the argument the author not only draws the conclusion based on the ambiguous word but also conclude the result based on the unavailability of the boats on the Palean. Furthermore, the author makes the conclusion more store based on these unwarranted assumption.

To begin, the conclusion is based largely on the unavailability of the boats nearby the Brim River. In doing so, the author fails to consider whether the archaeologists are yet to know about the boats, which may be yet to be discovered by the archaeologists. The assumption is that the as the woven baskets was recently found on the ancient village across the Brim River from Palaea and the boats were not found, palaea baskets weren’t solely of palean which is unwarranted.

Secondly the author assumes that the woven baskets were solely carried by the boats, which is itself not entirely convincing. There might have the flood across the Palaea River which flowed the basket to the adjacent village. Furthermore, the author suggest the strong conclusion based on the empirical data presented.

Examining various factors and reasons regarding the palean baskets identity of origin , the argument does not justify the reasons presented.