The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Some believe that family members like uncle, aunts, grandparents etc. are important, others' disagree. I believe that these days extended family are no more important as were in the past for the following reasons mentioned below.

To begin with, people were connected with agriculture in the past. Everybody in the family has to work on the field for the subsistence. For example, on the south Asian countries like Nepal people were more dependent on the agriculture. The house was considered to be independent if there were more family members. The grandfather would be the head of the family. Other members work together for food. However, these days small family are seen and they are more happy with it. Different families have different occupation and they can well maintain for their family. The agriculture can be done with the help of technology like tractors for ploughing with the small number of people.

Secondly, people these days are quite busy in their work. Let's take an example a son from the family goes to city for his graduate studies. He may find some girl whom he intend to marry. He then, starts his small family in the city. The importance of the extended family, nowadays is also decreased as some members go other places in search of job. Moreover, the people can enjoy their freedom if they are away from the extended family. The grand son on the family no longer need to ask to make small decisions for father, grandparents and the cousins. Not only this, the small un-extended family can make good weekend holidays more enjoyable as there will be only few members to be asked for whether others are going for the weekend holidays.

Moreover, whenever family members need to be connected these days, it is quite easy with the innovation of the technology. We can immediately talk to our parents and loved ones with the use of internet and social media. People in the past had to walk long distances to meet in the destination. But these days within few hours, we can travel across the world. Therefore, it is not necessary to live together with the big extended family just to be in touch with the members. This also caused to wane the importance of extended family today.

For the reasons mentioned above, I believe that extended family is less important now as they were in the past.