Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family(grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles.) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific examples and reasons to support your answer.

I agree with the statement that the extended family has become less important than it was before . In the past, there were the threats of bombings in the cold war or money depressions that place higher important on sticking and working together. However, there has been a change in the values of our world today that have severed many important relations between family members.

First, with new technology, older generations of grandparents and some aunts may be seperated into a different world. One example is instant messaging and email. Most young people use these ways to talk constantly with friends and other people, and consider this more exciting and important than talking with extended family members.

Also, students today are becoming more and more busy with school, after school activities, and homework. High achieving students take numerous advanced classes, overload on homework, and have little time to spend with the other members of the family. Other children are constantly involved in after school sports and activities that take up most of their time. Because of the importance placed on good grades, better test scores, and after school activities, the significance of the extended family has been decreasing.

Finally, families are becoming farther apart because of distance. Gone are the times in which families lived close together or in the same house, and have evenings with quality family times. In my case, I live halfway across the planet from the rest of my family and only get a few moments to talk to the phone with them every few months and a few weeks together during school vacation. Some other family members live so far away that I rarely get to talk to them, let alone meet them.

Therefore, the extended family has become less important because other values and factors have come into place. There is less communication going between them, less time to spend together, and more distance to travel to be with them. Extended family members have become quite seperated from the rest of the family than in the past.