Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today we live in a world of new technology where day we see a new innovations in various field of our life. Although, using this new technology is beneficial for us, still it shows some negative effects as well. Specially, this new technology has made our children less creative than they were in the past.

First of all, most children have new technological devices like iPads and iPhones in their hand all the time. Whenever they are free and bored they like to use their phone. They do not want to do different activities like drawing or painting they used to do in the past. Those were the creative activities. For example, when I was a child I love to do watercolor painting. For this I had to draw some pictures first and then color them. For drawing something we have to think first this increase our creativity level. Now, my nephew who is 11 year, plays different games on their iPhone when he feels boring and that is not creative at all.

Moreover, technology has bad effects on younger kids ages between 2-6 as well. Today most younger children love to watch cartoons and other TV programs all the time rather than playing with toys or other creative games. In the past, they used to play with toys and other creative activities with their parents and friends which was improving their imagination skills and other creative power. Now, parents are also encouraging them to watch cartoons in their free time so their children do not bother them while they are doing their household work or other activities.

Finally, today our teenagers love to Playstation games with each other all the time. They have friends from other states also who join them through these games. They talk and interact with each other while playing games. They do not want to go outside to do a physical activity like playing basketball, football and baseball. In the past, teenagers used to make plans to play different physical games on weekends which was their socializing and fun with their friends. We all know that physical activity improves our brain power and creativity.

In conclusion, today children are less creative because of technology than they were in the past because they are doing less physical activity, more involved in playing video games and watching television.