"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It might be seen logical at a first glance to recommend the new building for the Alpha than the Zelta company. However, the conclusion given by the author is flawed. The author not only fails to address the how much cost had been occurred than the relative cost but also fails to address the live load and the exact numbers of the users that the building is used for. In addition to this the author has not take into account of the nature of the foundation of the structure and the external loads that caused for the maintenance the building.

To begin the conclusion the author has explained the cost of the building of the Zelta’s construction building has been 30% more than the Alpha Company. Similarly the author has explained the maintenance cost for the Zelta Company have been less than the Alpha Company. But author has not explained exactly by how much greater was the cost by the Alpha Company was for the building project. If the building maintenance was of supposed to be just 50 thousands and more than 75 thousands for the 10 million and 13 million building of the Zelta and the Alpha Company respectively. This would not be logically convincing for the authors conclusion.

Secondly, the author has not explained the reasons behind the maintenance of the building. The reasons may be of some external loads like wind loads, corrosion effect by the acidic environment conditions for the two buildings in the 2 regions. Similarly the live loads on the Alpha constructed building might have been more than the Zelta’s constructed building. Due to live load the fatigue on the building may have been seen.