Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author in the conclusion of his argument says that palean baskets are not uniquely palean.There can be many possible ways to prove that it may not be true.

As the villages are ancient ,It is possible that the baskets could be taken ashore to lithos due to flooding or that the basket could have simply floated across the river and discovered by the people of palea. It can also be that the basket could have been taken from Palean to Lithos from one of the boats of Lithos . It is mentioned in the argument that there were no Palean boats present but nothing has been mentioned about boats from lithos or other region.The baskets could also be taken to lithos from a place where the rivers thins out and people can commute to the other side of the shore. Similarly the baskets could have end up in lithos through any of the trade routes that is connecting the two villages.The palean people could have traded the baskets with one of the nearby villages and so on and so forth until it finally ended up in lithos.

The archaeologists have mentioned nothing about how old the basket was , which they had discovered. It is likely that the basket would have reached lithos in a recent times when there are other modes of transportation.It could have been taken to lithos by a tourist or a passer by who would have left it there .The archaeologists should determine the age of the basket which will give them a much clear picture.

An other scenario can be that the basket could have been woven by a skilled weaver as leisue time and that it was not recoginsed for its similarity with the palean baskets until recently.

Having looked at the various scenarios , we cannot state with conviction that the authors argument about the palean baskets not being unique is accurate.