Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that due to the presence of the Palean baskets in places other than the prehistoric village of Palea, they could not be unique to the village. While upon a cursory read the argument might seem to be cogent, upon a more thorough examination, there is some evidence lacking on the part of the author, on which the argument stands, that might cause the argument to fall apart if not accounted for more comprehensively.

Starting off, the author puts much responsibility upon the people of Palea for the distribution of their products across the lands. Without proper evidence, there is no reason to rule out the possibility that the people of Lithos could have easily been advanced enough to travel by water to Palea to purchase the woven baskets and bring them back home. The lack of account of the people of Lithos and their technology makes the argument quite vulnerable, weak for contention and the conclusion of the argument questionable.

Furthermore, an absence of a case does not give one enough leeway to posit its non-existence. To conclude that the ancient Paleans could not travel to Lithos because there are no Palean boats that have yet been discovered, would be a slippery slope. Evidence is required, in part of the author, to see if the area has been extensively ferreted for boats. Archeological records would have to be scrutinized and verified. This lack of evidence for the complete absence of boats in ancient Palea weakens the argument severly. If the records were to be brought into light, the conclusion could be either strengthened or undermined based on what the evidence sheds light into.

Additionally, the author only talks about the Brim river as to tacitly suggest that it is the only route to Lithos. Are there other ways to reach Lithos from Palea? Since the author does not expand upon this subject, the claim stands to be dubious. The assumptions require evidence to confirm that crossing the Brim river is the only way to get from Palea to Lithos and vice versa. Other alternate routes, if discovered, could gravely weaken the conclusion of the argument.

Thus, the assumptions, while not exclusively stated, have an insidious effect on the strength of the argument. Upon more evidence, the author can defend his or her claim more strongly or perhaps choose to formulate a different argument with a contrasting conclusion based on a more extensive research and building upon the additional evidence that is asked of him or her.