Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the socalled Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that Palean people not were the only people who made the woven baskets with a unique pattern, the author’s argument does not make cogent evidences for that. It is easy to understand why the author concluded Palean baskets were not uniquely made by Palean people, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to that conclusion.

Mentioning the discovery of Palean basket in Lithos but no evidence of Palean boats, the author reports that Lithos people also made Palean woven baskets for themselves. But it is possible that Lithos people could have possessed their boats to buy and load the Palean woven baskets from Palean people. In other words, the author additionally needs the evidence of no boats within two different tribes to support the argument. Now the argument has a great loophole because the author just mentioned the absence of evidence in Palean boats, without the consideration of Lithos boats.

And even without crossing the Brim river, we can think of indirect path of distribution through the third merchants of another tribes. Even though it was not probable that Paleans and Lithos people can exchange their artisans and products due to the Brin River, there could be some merchants who visit the two villages regularly to buy the Palean woven baskets and sell them to Lithos people. In that case, the third merchants could have played an important role in conveying Palean baskets into the Lithos culture.

Besides, the geographical changes around Brim River can be considered as another factor. The Brim River is now very deep and broad according to the author. We don’t know how exactly the river was in the prehistoric era. The river could not have been existed long time ago, so that Palean people are adjacent enough to Lithos people to sell the woven baskets to make profits. And there could be some geographical changes to make the river deep and broad. In that case, the evidence of boats is not needed and the discovery of woven baskets in Lithos is fully plausible.

The woven baskets with a special pattern can be one of the significant artifacts for the study of archaeologists. For this reason, identifying the origin and the distribution path is very important. The author’s argument, however, is not persuasive in some points because he didn’t figure out all the possibilities and other factors in that the Palean woven baskets could be sent by Lithos boats or the third merchants, and that there is no need to cross the Brim River in the past.