Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The writer of this analytical piece has drawn the optimistic conclusion, from disjointed and incomplete data. While it may true that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean, the authors' argument does not make a cogent case. It is easy to understand that Palean baskets founded in Lithos and no Palean boats were founded in Brim River so it should not be unique, but In this argument, there are ample assumptions and holes, and thus, not strong enough to lead to the conclusion that Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The author mentioned a broad statement that "Palean" baskets have previously been found only near the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore believed to have been made only by the Palean people. It is not clear, however, the scope and validity of this leave a lot of space for doubts. For example, was there any kind of workshop founded in Palean which asserts that it should only be made by the Palean people? It can not be always true that if baskets are founded there then it must be made by Palean people. It may have been transported to those places. Maybe some people of Palean imported those baskets from somewhere else. We just do not know. Unless it is fully representative, valid and reliable, it can not be used to effectively back to the author's argument.

Additionally, the author claims that archaeologists discovered such palean baskets in Lithos. Though there have been baskets we do not know that it is imported from Palean only. It may have been imported from any other places where baskets were made. Not only that but it also may be possible that Lithos people were imitating the art of making baskets and such founded basket may be imitated Lithos one. We can not corroborate anything surely. To strengthen his/her argument, the author would benefit from implementing that the evidence was discovered by archaeologists that founded basket was only imported from Palean itself.

Building upon the implication that the river is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. The author suggests that thus Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. For example, baskets were made in palean then there should be some way to avail transport to Lithos, In this case, the way is not founded so it may not be unique. But what if there were no such river exists at the time of such palean baskets were transported from Palean to Lithos. it also may have been possible there are different routes of transport other than the river or maybe the depth and width of the river may not be such deep and broad at that time. Consequently, boats not founded have no impact on the uniqueness of Palean basket. The author does not effectively show the connection between Palean boats, river, and the uniqueness of palean boats.

In general, it may be said that the writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of the complete absence of proper data. No convincing reasoning is given. The argument ends with an entirely unjustified optimistic conclusion based on observations that are likely to be incorrect. Thus, the author's argument not likely significantly persuades that the "Palean" baskets were not uniquely palean.