Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The origin of the basket which was found in the Palean is under doubt. According the initial evidence and author's assumptions its origin would be Palea. Then, a basket has been found in Lithos that was apart from Palea by a wide river and there is not any evidence for boats in this area. So , the author concluded that the origin of that kind of basket is not specificly Palea.

The first assumption that should be investiagted is that the origin of the basket should be one of these two cities which are mentioned above whereas it could be another place and then bring to these areas. The author did not mention any causes to proof his idea such that type of sweing, materials, colors, chemical treatment which used or any special painting or symbols.

Traveling from both cities by just boat is another assumption that are not neccerily correct. The author explained that because there is not any evidences of existing of boat in this area they could not travel between two areas and as a result the origin is not obvious. But we can count different methods for crossing the river such as bridge or finding a place that the riverside has narrow width to cross the river without boat. Apart from that it may that the evidance of boat completly destroied or remained undescovered until now and maybe archaeologists could find some in the future.

Providing some reasons to proof that this type of basket is special for this area could help the argument to seem persuasive. For example, spacial type of materials, usage and painting could provide some cogent causes that approve his idea. To strengthen the argument, the author can provide some archaeologic evidence such as the origin time of each baskets in these two areas and then according the time he can conclude cogntly. Another suggestion is that finding evidences for traveling between these two cities and roads that people had used previously.