Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Baskets with that particular distinctive pattern is found in vast numbers in Palea, but only one such basket has been found in Lithos. This suggests that the people of Lithos might not have had the knowledge of how to make these baskets. Evidence of just one such basket could be explained by trade or perhaps strong water currents or winds that may have blown the basket from Palea, across the river to Lithos. While there have been no Palean boats found, as of this day, the implication that the Palean people never crossed the river would be wrong. Evidence of the Palean boats may not have survived, or other traders from a different settlement could have brought back the "Palean" baskets with them on their own boats. Thus the "Palean" basket found in Lithos could be attributed to trade between the two settlements. If a more in-depth search of the Lithos or other archaeological dig sites gives evidence of the baskets in higher quantities, then the conclusion made above could be have more merit.