Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument discussed about the Woven baskets with a unique pattern that were only been found in Palea, thus were believed to be made by the Palea residents. However, a recent discovery by the archaeologists reported the same Woven baskets in Lithos, then the author assumes that the baskets were not only Palean. The change of attitude based on the new discovery might seem plausible, but a closer look to the details will bring out many logical fallacies.

At first, the argument pointed out that because the basket with a certain pattern were only been found in the vicinity of Palea, so it must be made by the Palean. However, it does not give us any evidence on the making of the basket in Palea. Simply only been found in Palea does not mean they were made in Palea. It is possible that all the baskets were made in a certain village other than Palea, and then were imported to Palea.

Moving on to the new archaeological discovery. The finding of a single basket with such 'Palean' pattern in Lithos led to believe that this type of baskets was not unique as Palean. First of all, with only one basket found in Lithos, this still cannot rule out the chance that the single basket was not actually from Palea. If by further exploring, similar baskets were found at other places could have strongly strengthen the case.

In the argument, it also mentioned that between Palea and Lithos is the Brim River, because no Palean boats were ever found, and the river is deep and broad, so the assumption is without boats Paleans didn't cross the river, thus the Palean couldn't introduce the basket to Lithos. However, it did not mention anything about people from Lithos didn't have ways to cross the river. So the possibility of Lithos people crossing over the river by their boats still exists.

Many assumptions need more supporting information or evidence in order to made believed. The author overlooked the possibility of trade relationship between the two villages, he or she didn't consider fully about Lithos having boats to cross over the river. In order to evaluate whether the baskets were Palean-based, it is recommendable to take more archaeological findings and data information into account.