Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Woven baskets are very trendy and still in use, now-a-days. If we go back to prehistoric times such as ‘Palean’ era, one will come across the most aesthetic piece of woven basket. However, some claim that these baskets designs were not solely of palean’s. On contrary, no claim has been stated to corroborate that these baskets were not palean’s forte or unique to them. The author has not put-forward cogent reasons to validate his argument. One cannot come to a concrete decision just based on assumptions and not evidences.

To begin with, the proponent states that archaeologists have found the baskets similar to palean’s across a river and therefore, these are not their patent work. But the author fails to put-forth reasonable evidence to validate this point such as, there is no description or images provided by the author claiming that both the baskets (the paleans and the one excavated across brim’s river) are replica of each other. In addition, there could be a possibility that these designs might be similar but it is not proved whether, palean’s have imitated it from others. There might be a chance that the case is reverse and other tribe people might have emulated the paleans. Hence, it is not accurate to accuse the paleans that they might have replicated someone else’s work.

Secondly, the author posits that the river is deep and broad and is quite impossible to cross it without a boat, and no sign of palean boat have been observed. On the other hand, no information has been given if the palean’s boat had some unique marking to demarcate it from other boats. It could be possible that their boat was as prosaic as the other boats and consequently, excavators were not able to distinguish. Furthermore, there could be a chance that their boat might have been stolen or have been modified by someone else and as a result, archaeologists were unable to find any boat near the shore to claim it as paleans. To add on, one cannot be sure of the archaeologist’s result, there might have been some error and as a result, they missed the boat. Thus, this inaccuracy also needs to be taken under consideration as no evidence has been cited about the boat. Therefore, it is unreasonable to state that paleans work is not unique as there might be various causes that boat have been ignored or not bought into attention.

Lastly, even if the paleans basket were found at a distinct place still one cannot conclude if, they have replicated or that the baskets were not unique to them. For instance, what if paleans were peripatetic traveller’s and as a result, they visited and established their residence among several regions. Consequently, there designs were excavated from various places. In this scenario, it would be quixotic to propose that these designs were not unique to paleans. Henceforth, the author should come up with some valid arguments.

In conclusion, to accuse someone of their creativeness or uniqueness, the author should consider the above questions for a convincing and eloquent argument. And as author has not provided the many facets of the unanswered questions; it would not be precise to indict paleans of a charge which is not yet justifiable or well grounded.